RSS

Acts of kindness for Boston

17 Apr

By now I’m assuming you already know what happened April 15th in Boston, so I’m not going into any details.

When something like that happens I can’t help but wonder what has gone wrong? What happened to the human race? What goes through a person’s mind to think that anything that even resembles something that could hurt another human being is okay?

I can’t answer those questions. I can only formulate assumptions as to why someone would have so much hate in their hearts. I can only formulate theories that try to explain what happened to them to lead to such actions. But none of them give me any piece of mind. They make me sad. They make me angry.

So I try to focus my energy on things that are the complete opposite of their actions.

I focus on the image of 78-year-old Bill Iffrig, knocked over by the blast near the finish line, who then picked himself back up and finished the race.

I focus on the first responders who risked their lives without a second thought to rescue and help people.

I focus on the man who used his own belt as a tourniquet and on many others who ripped off their own clothes to help the injured.

I focus on the reports of runners in the marathon who continued past the finish line to area hospitals to donate blood, and on the many, many others who were not even part of the marathon and volunteered as blood donors.

I focus on the many Boston restaurants that not only offered nearby strangers a place to get away from the chaos, charge a phone, use a restroom, and rest, but that also fed those strangers, stating “pay only if you can.”

I focus on the person who picked up the checks of 7 tables (24 people all together).

I focus on the hundreds of people who opened their own homes and offered a bed, a couch, a bathroom, a warm plate of food to the ones affected by this tragedy, either because they were not able to go back to their hotel or had to be there for others who were injured.

I focus on the people from all over the country who decided to buy a drink, donate money or time, and leave happy/inspiring notes to people they knew but also to complete strangers, showing us that acts of kindness are not only restricted to a geographical location.

To all of them, to all of you, I say: THANK YOU! Thank you for restoring my/our faith in humanity.

look-for-the-helpers

Read more:

15 acts of kindness during the Boston blasts – KSHB.com

Boston marathon acts of kindness – Mashable.com

26 acts of kindness in the wake of the Boston marathon tragedy – NBCnews.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 17, 2013 in Life's Full Of Choices

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
