RSS

Ginger, the Cleptocat

24 Feb

I have a cleptocat. Seriously, this is a first for me. I’ve had cats stealing the pens I was using or something before, but never one using its mouth to carry things to another room. Well, that’s what Ginger does. She grabs whatever she thinks is a good toy for her and carries it to her bedroom. The good thing is, her bedroom is the one that used to be mine. Well, I still sleep in there, but let’s face it, it’s her bedroom now. And she let’s me know by meowing at me when I go in there and turn the lights on when she’s asleep. Also, her toys are usually on top of the bed (on my side of the bed, mind you) or scattered around the bed on the floor.

Here are the toys she collected so far:

IMG_0868

The only ones that were hers were the cat toy ball with feathers (at least it had feathers when I got it for her) and the paper ball. She loves to throw both of them up in the air and chase them around the house. It’s adorable.

The pen and the tag she got from my bedside table (I was using that tag as a bookmark). The red leaf is from a potpourri I have on my coffee table in the living room. The wine stoppers (blue and green) she got from the kitchen sink. Yes, she did carry every single one of them to the bed. Sometimes she puts those things on top of where my toes are in the middle of the night. I think she does it on purpose because she knows I’m going to move around and the noise of them falling on the hardwood floor will wake me up. That’s what she wants, because then I’ll get up to see what it is and she can meow and try to take me to the kitchen to give her tuna for breakfast.

Oh, and here’s a picture of her stealing her toy back because she didn’t like that I was taking pictures to use as evidence of her crimes.

IMG_0870

IMG_0871

Have you ever had a cat (or any other pet) stealing your things like this?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Ginger, the Cleptocat

  1. Amanda

    February 24, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    My dogs pretty much stick with their own toys, but we do have an evil spirit that eats our socks. Not all of them, just one from each pair so that we have a lot of useless socks lying around.

     
  2. artgirlnyc

    February 24, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    I have a cat that steals things and then hides them under “her” chair in the living room. She really likes make up brushes, in particular. When my roommate or I take anything back when cleaning beneath the chair, she gets very pissy.

     
  3. woodenmonkey

    February 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    My folks used to have a cat that would steal socks. Just clean ones. Which confused my dad for awhile. He would get dressed in the morning and put on a sock, then reach for the second one, only to find it gone. After a few times of this he developed the habit of unrolling his socks, sitting on one while he put the first one on his foot. The cat still tried to grab the second sock, and (bless his stupid fuzzy brain) be confused why he would bit the toe of the sock but be unable to walk off with it…

     
  4. Angie

    March 10, 2013 at 12:05 am

    I love these pictures. I buy my cats all kinds of toys they ignore. Get a box out and it’s magic!

     

Leave a Reply

 
