RSS

Why do we write a blog?

18 Feb

Why are blogs so appealing? Why is it so great to write about personal things when we know strangers will read? Why is it so important for us to share private, sometimes even embarrassing thoughts with people we’ve never met before? Do we do it so we won’t feel so alone in the world? Do we do it for the satisfaction of knowing someone else out there can relate to it and that can make us feel less abnormal?

A year ago I started writing in this blog and I honestly hoped I wouldn’t quit. It wasn’t my first blog and I was afraid it would end up forgotten just as the other ones did. So far so good, but it isn’t over yet. It never will be, right? To avoid wanting to quit I did take some precautions. I decided it wouldn’t be too personal, that I wouldn’t reveal too much, and that I would keep it separate from my real life. But what does that all mean? To be honest, that’s up for interpretation.

If you pay attention to what a person writes (or rather to what that person decides to write or not to write) you end up knowing more about that person than you can even imagine. You, all of you, have access to more about my life than people who’ve known me in person for years! You may not realize that but you do. You can imagine how I’d react in a situation or try to imagine what I would or would not say about a certain subject. The fact that you may not know my age or my last name or what I look like does not mean a thing. Or perhaps you’re one of the few ones who do know me in person, in which case, hi! It’s great to see you here!

But I think that more than anything I wanted this space to be a place where I could say (or write) what I wanted without having to worry about who is reading it or whether or not they’d judge me for what I’m writing here. We end up meeting a lot of people we have to deal with in real life and sometimes we don’t have a choice whether or not to let them be a part of it. But in here, online, we have the privilege of not having to do that. If you come here and read my blog is because you want to, not because you have to do it. I probably won’t even know you were here anyway. Well, unless you like a post or leave a comment, of course. And by the way, comments and likes are always welcomed. 😉

Anyway, I just wanted to say it’s been a great journey and I appreciate every single one of your likes and comments. You all make me feel like I belong, like I’m not the only one, and like I’m actually part of a group I truly enjoy being part of. Thank you.

Thank You

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Why do we write a blog?

  1. Lady Lovely

    February 18, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Great Monday share. Keep posting so we can keep reading 🙂

     
  2. oregonmike98

    February 18, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    this was great Red. I think sometimes…at least for me when I blog about things which are occasionally personal and are tough to say. I do it in the hopes that somewhere out there someone may read it and even though they may not comment back they understand where I am coming from and how I feel. I do it in the hopes that on certain days when life is getting to me that I am not alone. its like a digital message in a bottle type of thing

     
    • RedheadCarol

      February 20, 2013 at 6:02 am

      You’re right, we do it because we want to share something, even if we don’t get to know who got the message. I loved the digital message in a bottle comparison.

       
  3. snarkysarcasticbish

    February 24, 2013 at 12:56 am

    This ssays so much. I love it. Keep up the great work. Yea we want to be noticed, yet not noticed I think sometimes. Good to hear others feel the same way. Congrats on keeping the blog going. Tis hard, I know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
