RSS

Do you believe everything happens for a reason?

11 Feb

I’ve been trying to write a certain story that’s in my head. I know what I want from it (kind of) but I’m still having a hard time doing it. Sometimes I just feel like I have to go back and fix the little things I know I have to fix in the first few chapters. Other times I feel like if I do that I’ll never get to the end of it. As a consequence, I end up stuck in between those two options.

In the meantime, I try to find inspiration here and there to help me write the story. And I love when I watch something that has nothing to do with my story but then I see this one thing that just seems to fit, that just makes a lot of sense. Do you know what I mean?

JJ tells Penelope someone’s watching her. Penelope looks at him sitting at his computer desk. She turns back to JJ and asks, “Do you believe everything happens for a reason?”

Penelope walks toward him. He stands up.

“You,” she says, acknowledging him.

“You,” he replies; a sigh of relief escapes his lips. The coolest girl he has ever met now has a face.

“You’re good,” she states.

“You’re better,” he replies.

They look deep into each other’s eyes. The universe comes to a stop. Everything around starts to disappear. They are the only ones standing there.

“Kevin Lynch,” he says, offering her his hand.

“Penelope,” she says, accepting his hand in hers.

His lips mouth her name. No sound comes out, for his lips have no intention of being heard. They are merely repeating what the mind has already memorized. Kevin smiles.

Falling. Unexpectedly.

I guess everything does happen for a reason.

Criminal Minds – S03E09

P.S.: Bonus points if you have seen this scene before. If not, you can see it here. And yes, you can still get the bonus points if you watch it now.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Do you believe everything happens for a reason?

  1. H

    February 11, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    I adore that you watch CM. The interpersonal relationships on that show are amazing (though I prefer Morgan/Garcia).

     
  2. mouse555

    February 11, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    LOVE CM. And yes, I know what it’s like to not be able to move forward with a story. sucks! I hope you work your way through it!

     
  3. Amanda

    February 11, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    I’ve never been good at dialogue. I had professors comment on more than one “story” that it was more of an essay than a story. Oops. I blame it on my inability to write convincing dialogue. I love what you have here.

     

Leave a Reply

 
