RSS

Reading, cooking and playing pranks, that’s what vacations are all about.

04 Jan

Right now I’m enjoying some vacation time, and that means visiting my home country, my family, my friends, and my cats. My days are filled with reading some new stories and re-reading old ones, cooking with mom a few of my favorite dishes, and obeying my cats wishes of when and for how long to pet them.

But that’s another story. Let’s go back to cooking. The other day we were able to verify my grandma’s been senile for a very long time. We were using a handwritten recipe book my grandma wrote for me a few years ago. It’s full of dead people’s recipes. Well, my grandma wouldn’t say it like that, but let’s face it, most of our ancestors are no longer breathing.

Anyway, although I love my grandma’s effort in putting all the recipes together for me, I do have to question her at times. I think she forgets I’m not really that used to being in the kitchen and am not sure how to caramelize a pan with no ingredients listed or steps to follow (I do know now and I have to say it’s easier than it sounds).

But some of her recipes are also missing a few basic steps, probably because they were too obvious for her. She doesn’t tell you to bake things, for instance. How long and at what temperature to bake something? Oh, please, of course she doesn’t tell you that! How dare you ask!

Now, the best part was to throw away a whole batch of cream because it was not thickening, just to realize soon afterwards that we were supposed to add the egg yolks before, not after cooking the cream as specified in my grandma’s recipe.

Another important lesson I learned that day: do not try to be funny when your mother asks you if you know how to do something. She starts getting upset, you can’t stop laughing, then you try to make another joke and end up laughing and crying uncontrollably in front of the freezer.

Good times. Good times indeed.

Do you think that’s why she decided to wake me up from a nap using a spray bottle? Nah, of course not. She wouldn’t be seeking revenge, right? Right?

immaturity-demotivational-poster

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Reading, cooking and playing pranks, that’s what vacations are all about.

  1. H

    January 4, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    I adore your mother and I’ve never met her. This needs to change. And your grandmother. Seriously. I love you all.

    Have fun. Cook. Be a warm body for your cats to lay atop.

    But enjoy it. Every last bit.

     
    • RedheadCarol

      January 4, 2013 at 7:58 pm

      I will, and I am!
      Miss you!!!
      And yes, that needs to change. Soon.

       

Leave a Reply

 
