RSS

Pink Fuzzy Animals? Really?

21 Apr

Disclaimer: What you’re about to read is my opinion, and therefore, it may differ from yours. However, I don’t claim to be speaking the truth, just voicing what’s inside of me. Feel free to agree or disagree on the comment section below. I’ll reply to every single one of them.

Remember when I talked about the confusion it was going on about a band’s name? Well, today I woke up to an even more unsettling news. The band’s name is now Pink Fuzzy Animals.

I’ll give you time to process the information.

Good? Can we keep going? Okay, so here’s my opinion: No, just, no. I have no idea what’s going on in their minds at the moment, but that name is just a no. The first thing that came to mind was “How can I tell people I’m going to a concert to see the Pink Fuzzy Animals play and keep a straight face?” There’s no way. Plus, it sounds like a band for children, don’t you think? Like Yo Gabba Gabba or The Fresh Beat Band. Actually, The Fresh Beat Band sounds more grown up than Pink Fuzzy Animals, in my opinion.

What were they going for with this? What does the name mean to them? Is this just an attempt to keep the fans interested in them? Do they really think that because most of their fans are females that we all like fuzzy and pink things?

First of all, I’m a girl who doesn’t buy pink. I just don’t. I’m not into pink and I never was. I do own a couple of things that are pink, but because they were given to me by someone, not because I bought them. I hate when I find something I like and they only have it in pink. To me, it’s demeaning to assume all girls like pink. We don’t. And that doesn’t make me any less feminine. I’m more of a red kind of girl.

Second, do they actually think a guy who has never heard of the band will actually want to go to a concert to hear a band called Pink Fuzzy Animals? I mean, I don’t want to have to say to people, “Ignore the name and give the band a chance because they have a great sound.” We shouldn’t have to say things like that.

Finally, although a rose by any other name would still carry the same scent, I do believe that a name says a lot about the thing it is naming. Pink Fuzzy Animals does not evoke Rock’n’Roll. Pink and Fuzzy remind me of toys 3-year-old girls like to play with.

P.S.: I still love their sound. I guess I just need time to get used to the new name. Maybe I’m in a cough syrup induced coma/hallucination and when I wake up this will all be nothing but a crazy dream.

P.S. #2: Just saw someone saying they typed Punk Fuzzy Animals by accident. That name would have been a lot better. I think.

Update: Regardless of my feelings for the new name, the band is still as awesome as it was before. As long as they continue to make good music, I’ll continue to listen to and support them.

Here’s their new single Shooting Star. Enjoy.

Update #2: The more I think about this whole thing, the more disappointed I am. I cannot believe they took the site down and that the twitter account was simply changed to something else. It’s like wanting to erase someone’s memory. The band did exist, they have a history, they have fans.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “Pink Fuzzy Animals? Really?

  1. Christy

    April 21, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    I’m just not feeling it. Aside from the odd new name, I can’t get into the new sound. Maybe it will grow on me, but for now I’m not a fan.

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 21, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      I’m still in that “I like the band so I’ll support them” mode. But I’m also not a fan of the new single. Hopefully it won’t go down that lane. Hopefully they’ll bounce back to something more like the band we used to know and love. Hopefully.

       
  2. Christy

    April 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    I’m just not feeling it. Aside from the odd new name, which makes it nearly impossible to promote them, I just can’t get into their sound. Maybe they will grow on me, but for now I’m not a fan.

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      Let’s hope they’ll grown on all of us.

       
  3. snarkysarcasticbish

    April 21, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Reblogged this on Snarky Sarcastic Bish!!!.

     
  4. LaurieWhitlock

    April 21, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    I don’t like the new name and I don’t know if I ever will. I don’t know why they just didn’t dissolve this group and just stay Mechanical People because that is what this song sounds like to me, something that MP would have put out. Its a good song and I hope that they come to their senses and change the name

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 21, 2012 at 7:40 pm

      Cheers to that!
      I agree with everything you said. About the name of the band, about the new song, and about them coming to their senses. I do hope it happens, I so do. I cannot bring myself to like that name.

       

Leave a Reply

 
