RSS

How to be unprofessional. Because we should always learn from the mistakes others make.

13 Apr

Today I received some news that did not make me happy.

If you know the band 100 Monkeys, chances are you also know two out of the five members of the band announced, not too long ago, that they were not going to perform with the band for time being due to other projects in their lives.

Not too long ago we found out the two new members who would join the remaining three in their shows, in order to continue to perform the song their fans adored and even create new ones. I have not had a chance to meet the new members yet, so I can’t really comment on this subject.

But the news I received today was a bit more complex. Today all fans following the band’s twitter account received a tweet to check some news on their website. The news, written by the band’s manager, was saying that due to demands made by Jackson (Rathbone) and his lawyers, the band will no longer be named 100 Monkeys. They will, however, continue to play the songs the band used to play and which the fans grew so familiar with.

I’m sorry, but this piece of information did piss me off. And why? Because I do believe their manager was unbelievably unprofessional when delivering the information in such way. The post should have only stated that, due to reasons beyond their control (or simply unfortunately) the band would no longer use the name 100 Monkeys. That’s it! Naming the one “to blame” for it is not something any respectable professional should ever do.

That only came to reinforce my opinion of said manager. I never understood why they got her in the first place, and from talking to other people I know I was not the only one who disliked her. But still, I never expected her to disrespect any of the band member, whether or not he’s no longer a part of the band.

A note to the band’s manager: dirty laundry should not be washed in public. No one needs to know the behind-the-scene problems. Keep it professional. And respect others. Always.

A message to the musicians: Keep up with the good work. Your fans will keep supporting you. We truly appreciate your dedication and cannot thank you enough for all the good times. Thank you for all the shows, the laughter, the dancing, and the inspiration. We admire every single one of you for your talent and dedication. And we can’t wait to get more songs from you, guys.

P.S.: Tried to go to their website to check the news again and put a direct link to it here in my blog, and the site is “temporarily unavailable.” I wonder if they are rectifying her indiscretion.

Update: The links in this post are currently not working, since the website is undergoing some issues. However, if you do not know the band, you can check their wikipedia page to learn a bit more about them. I’ll soon make another post with songs, lyrics, videos, and all of that. And thanks to @BenevoLI, here’s a picture of the “news”:

Because some people need to learn to be more professional.

Update #2: Lani tweeted yesterday that she was not the one responsible for the information, that it was written by the band and she just posted. However, the post contained information that should not be released to the fans in such a way, and the position of the manager is to identify the possible implications of words written on the internet. Something you put on the internet will always be there. People have copies of it, whether you take it down later or not.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

19 responses to “How to be unprofessional. Because we should always learn from the mistakes others make.

  1. mouse555

    April 13, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    she should learn to think before she types! Idiot

     
  2. snarkysarcasticbish

    April 14, 2012 at 2:08 am

    I am so gonna reblog i hope u okay with that lol thanks doll

     
  3. snarkysarcasticbish

    April 14, 2012 at 2:14 am

    Reblogged this on Snarky Sarcastic Bish!!!.

     
  4. riatarded

    April 14, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Hi! Thanks for liking my Hunger Games Post 🙂 Would you be interested in being a part of The Uninspired Chronicles? 🙂

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

      I’d love to be a part of it. I’ll work on a post for it in the next few days.

       
      • riatarded

        April 14, 2012 at 10:31 am

        Thank you! It will be awesome! 🙂 I am following your blog!

         
      • riatarded

        April 14, 2012 at 10:32 am

        do follow the blog, so you will be updated about the progress! 🙂

        I will be announcing the winners in the first to second week of may! x

         
      • RedheadCarol

        April 14, 2012 at 10:40 am

        I thought I was following the blog already.
        I have about thirty pages at the moment, since I’m trying to read them while writing some posts. I think I left yours opened because I was still reading about the Uninspired Chronicles. Now I’m following it. 😉

         
      • riatarded

        April 14, 2012 at 2:48 pm

        wordpress has issues 😦 sigh!

         
  5. Jana

    April 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

    btw I think that you should know that the post was written by the band. Lani only posted it on the website (according to her twitter).

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 15, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Thank you for the information. I added that to the post.

       
  6. nolliecat

    April 18, 2012 at 8:15 am

    I left this comment at the bottom of the original post on the Official site, almost word for word. I told Lani she was extremely unprofessional for wording it that way, and if she couldn’t do it better, I’m sure SOMEONE was around to help her write it more professionally. Also, as the Band’s Manager, she should have used much better judgement when posting something like this. Funny how comments before and after mine got approved and posted since they were backing her 100%, but mine continued to say “awaiting moderation” until the site went down.
    As much love as I had for all of the guys, the snarky tweets about Jackson, from his “supposed” best friends, are too much. Regardless of the reasoning behind all of this, NO ONE should be posting announcements, tweeting demeaning comments, etc. Totally unprofessional and childish of them all. I wish everyone the best; but especially Jackson, regardless of his reasons, he does not deserve to be treated like that.

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 18, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      It’s unfortunate that the people who moderate comments have a need to unable the ones from people whose opinion differ from their own.
      She should have been more professional. Her behavior was not the one you would expect from someone in her position.
      I’m with you, the snarky tweets are ruining for me. I wish them all the best as well, but at the moment the only thing they are accomplishing is to hurt their fan base and their own reputations.
      Thank you for your comment. I wish more people would understand that what I wanted with this post was not point fingers, but talk about how that action was rushed and would create (as we saw it did) a lot of problems that are a direct consequence of that rushed action.

       
 
