RSS

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

01 Apr

I’ve heard people talk about how everyone was so taken by not only this book, but the whole trilogy. I have to say, that made me not even want to read it. I don’t like when people tell me I have to read a book because it’s so awesome and everyone loves it. I resist things like that. Maybe it’s the rebel inside me telling me to go against the flow.

But eventually my curiosity got the better of me. Once I heard it was a dystopian novel then I really wanted to read it. Plus, there was the fact that the movie was coming out, and that good friends of mine, whose opinion I respect very much, liked it. So I gave in and decided that I wanted to see the movie and, therefore, was going to read the book. And I knew I had to read the book before watching the movie, that’s pretty much mandatory in my opinion. I like to allow myself to see the story develop in front of me through my own eyes, using my imagination, and then see what others come up with.

Anyway, it’s an easy-to-read book, with an easy-to-follow story line. Very interesting. I couldn’t really picture how things where set sometimes, but that’s a problem I always have. I always have a hard time with directions and such. But I have to admit the book even brought tears to my eyes in more than one occasion. It’s a good story, very emotional in some ways, and with a lot of messages. The book makes you think about society, power, self-preservation, and human rights.

The book is in first person and you only get to see or hear what the narrator can, you do have a limited view sometimes. But as in every story, there are always things the reader must know that the character may not be aware of, which forces the author to find ways in which to deliver the information the readers need. Nothing unusual there. The problem here is the way in which the author decided to deliver said information.

At times I felt like things were too convenient. Things seem to work out too well. But I get it, and it doesn’t even bother me that much. At others I felt the author didn’t think I was smart enough to make my own assumptions. And I do understand this is YA, but still, that really annoyed me. For example, if you put something in italics, I know that’s what the character is thinking. I understand that without you having to add a comma and the words “I think” after it. Authors out there, please, do not do that. You have to believe your readers will be smarter than that.

But all in all, it’s a great story, full of interesting situations, although unpleasant at times, and it does evoke emotions in the reader and it’s thought-provoking. I cried at the end of chapter one. I loved the opening paragraph on chapter two because of how she described that specific moment. And at times I even stopped reading just to reflect on life, on how society is, and on how we, humans, behave. I like it, and I do recommend this book.

A few quotes:

“I’m more than just a piece in their Games.” 

“It’s all a big show. It’s all how you’re perceived.” (p.135)

“Happy Hunger Games! And may the odds be ever in your favor.”

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

  1. mouse555

    April 2, 2012 at 5:13 am

    I agree whole heartedly with this review. I may have to read them again though, for my own blog lol

     
    • RedheadCarol

      April 2, 2012 at 6:46 am

      Can’t wait to read your review.

       
      • mouse555

        April 2, 2012 at 9:41 am

        😀

         
  2. mouse555

    April 2, 2012 at 5:14 am

    Reblogged this on Mich's Book Reviews and commented:
    I love to read other people’s reviews… I will have to read these again and write my own!

     
  3. snarkysarcasticbish

    April 6, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    I loved reading this series. I cannot wait to get all ur ideas on the whole series.

     

Leave a Reply

 
