RSS

Today is not tomorrow. Tomorrow is tomorrow.

14 Mar

Today I read on Telling Dad about the wonder that the word tomorrow is. I have to say I experienced first hand the magnificent benefits this word can bring.

Cutie Pie (name changed to protect the identity of said child) was an adorable 2 1/2 year old. She started talking a bit later than expected, but once she started, boy could she talk! She talked all day long and I often wondered if she could breathe through all her talking. I guess she could, since she’s still alive. But the thing about her was that not only she’d tire you with all her talking, she also discovered that a tired adult would often give her something just to hear her stop talking.

We started giving her lollipops, but she found a way to talk with one in her mouth, which often lead to sticky chin and fingers. So Cutie Pie started vocalizing her wishes, which not only involved things she thought she wanted from tv commercials, but anything else she could lay eyes on. She wanted everything. And not only she wanted everything, but she also wanted it all right now. She had no patience that little one. Now, have you ever tried to explain the concept of time to a little child? It’s not that easy, trust me.

Besides talking, Cutie Pie’s favorite activity was shopping, which can be a good thing when you have to go buy things. The problem was that she soon started getting tired of getting apples, oranges, and tomatoes as gifts. I tried to convince her that the bag of potatoes was just for her one day, but that didn’t go over well. So one day I took her to the dollar store. I needed something and figured I could buy her something and wouldn’t cost a lot of money. It’s the dollar store after all. What I wasn’t anticipating was how much she’d fall in love with their large variety of rubber ducks in different outfits. Why did I ever think that letting her start a collection was a good idea is beyond me. But I did, and from that day on all she wanted to do was to go to the duck store to buy another duck.

So one day, when she asked me once again to take her to the duck store, I said, “Fine, we’ll go tomorrow, okay?” Had I known it would be that easy, I could have saved me a lot of money. She was pleased with my answer. She was happy to know that tomorrow we’d go to the duck store. What did she think tomorrow was, I had no idea, but she was fine waiting till tomorrow for another duckie. This coming from a girl who once cried because I said we’d leave in 20 minutes and she didn’t want to wait that long. Go figure.

I explained to her she’d have to go to bed at night and tomorrow would come when she woke up. Of course she woke up from her afternoon nap asking if it was tomorrow already. Apparently my explanation had a few flaws. So I told her, “Nope, today is not tomorrow. Tomorrow is tomorrow.” She shrugged her shoulders and said “Okay.”

Now, I did feel bad the first few times I gave her the same lame excuse that today was today and that tomorrow would be tomorrow, but I have to say she never questioned me. I guess she figured, at least she wouldn’t have to wait 20 minutes for something.

P.S.: Now I’m wondering if I should publish this post today or schedule for it to be published tomorrow. But since tomorrow may never come, I think I’ll post it today.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
