RSS

Itching thoughts

06 Mar

A friend starts telling you about a show on TV with houses infested by bugs. She tells you all about walls covered in roaches. She describes how the walls seemed like a sea of brown moving in waves, with no original wall showing, completely taken by the roaches. You can picture it in your head. Then she tells you about a bed-bug infestation. She tells you how there were night vision cameras recording the people sleeping in the house and how the bugs would crawl all over their faces in the middle of the night. She describes the people just swatting the bugs off when they crawled on their faces, unaware of what was disturbing their sleep. Then you feel an itch. Something on your leg starts itching. It’s insane and you know it. You know there’s nothing crawling up your leg, but you feel the itch all the same. Then you feel your scalp itching, right behind your ear. You know there’s nothing there as well, but you can’t help it, your hand fly to your scalp to scratch it. Then your cheek starts itching. Then your thigh. You look around, you scratch the spot, but there’s nothing there. It’s all in your head, and you know it. You know there are no bugs crawling up your body, but your mind insists on playing tricks on you.

I find it very intriguing how our minds do that. The itching feels so real you believe there is a creature there causing it. I’m really curious when it comes to our minds. It amazes me how much what we read, hear, or see can influence our minds and make us believe something is real when it’s not. Those psychosomatic symptoms are nothing but fabricated responses to nonexistent factors.

Right now, as I write all of this down, my legs are itching like crazy. And I know there’s nothing there. I’d check, but I’m a bit nervous to actually find something. One time I was reading one of the Harry Potter books and it was that part with the spiders and I had this same reaction. I felt my leg itching and I reached to scratch the spot. To say I was surprised to find a spider crawling on my leg is a bit of an understatement. I jumped off the bed. The spider, of course, ran for her dear life. I don’t know which one of us was more scared of the other. It was funny. Well, not at the moment, of course.

Are you itchy right now?

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Itching thoughts

  1. luvkiss1973

    March 6, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    oh great, now i’m itching tyvm and its not as if i’m not gullible enough as it is, lol. A friend has a laptop with an issue but we said klaptop and now i blame her top for giving mine klap. Then i was talking to someone who has bronchitis and now i can’t stop coughing, so now i’m coughing and itching thanks to all my lovely friends lol

     
    • RedheadCarol

      March 7, 2012 at 12:18 am

      I know, right? I’m exactly like that. And now I’m itching all over again. 😉

       
      • luvkiss1973

        March 7, 2012 at 10:55 am

        yea i understand what u mean lol

         

Leave a Reply

 
