RSS

Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.

02 Mar

Today is Dr. Seuss‘ birthday. He’d be 108, had he not died in 1991. And although I didn’t grow up with his books, I love them. I’ve read different books when I was a child, from Brazilian authors, but that’s a story for another post. Now I read his books all the time to the children I know. And yes, I did go to the movies to watch Horton Hears a Who! and I will watch The Lorax, with or without the company of children, since I have no problem going by myself to enjoy a movie. In fact, it’s even better, because children tend to make comments during the movie and I don’t appreciate the constant interruption.

But back to books. Today I read one of my favorites, Green Eggs and Ham. I can almost recite that book by heart and I always say “You don’t like them, so you say. Eat them, eat them, and you may. Eat them and you may, I say,” every time someone say they don’t like something but don’t even want to try it. I know, I know, who am I to say something when I refuse to eat oysters? But have you seen how gross they look? It’s like eating boogers, the limy kind, from a child who has been sick with a cold and crying so much he has that long line of limy-green, disgusting booger running from his nose, over his lips, passing his chin, and threatening to fall but still hanging by a thread. No, thanks, I’ll pass.

And speaking of quotes, one of my favorites is “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” And I find that lately I’ve been saying this a lot!

I’m always worried about what I say and how I say it. People often say I over-think things and I can’t say they are wrong, but I just can’t help myself. I don’t want to hurt people’s feelings, but I can’t just be quiet about certain things. Can I? Better yet, should I? Should we just not say what we think because of how others may receive the information? Should we be so concerned about what others will think? I don’t want to hurt people, but I feel like I’m still entitled to have my own opinions and to express them, don’t you think?

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
